Help A register for her third year at university

by Noreen in Bristol, England, United Kingdom

Help A register for her third year at university

Total raised £2,530

£12,100 target 8 days left
20% 66 supporters
Keep what you raise – this project will receive all pledges made by 21st June 2024 at 3:04pm

A is a brilliant, dedicated student who's overcome so much - please help her into her third year at university.

by Noreen in Bristol, England, United Kingdom

Thanks to your contributions in 2023, the wonderful A was able to register for her second year of university last September. I've seen her absolutely work her socks off, despite injuries, losses and health difficulties, and I'm full of admiration for her. Now registration for third year is approaching, for which she needs to pay her fees in full from second year. I'm hoping so much that we can get her even part of the way there.

Background

Some background in A's own words, from last year's fundraiser (https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/p/help-a-register-for-her-second-year-at-university)

'I’m an international student at the University of [redacted], who is [struggling with] financial difficulties. I decided to leave home in [redacted], Peru, to pursue a degree in English literature at my dream university. Money has always been tight, so I knew that to attend university in England, I would have to get a scholarship. After lots of hard work, I was awarded a [redacted] Scholarship for International students that covers 10,000 pounds out of my international student tuition fee. My mother, who is back in Peru, was committed to covering the rest of my tuition fee. However, she suffers from coronary heart disease, she has had two heart attacks in the past, and undergone heart surgery. On top of that, my father passed away from cancer when I was twelve, so she only receives a window pension of not even sixty-five pounds per month. The current economic situation in Peru is very unstable, resulting in poor results for my mother’s antiques business.'

Here's an update from A.

'This degree means the absolute world to me. In the two years I have been studying English literature at [redacted], I have learned so much. Literature continues to challenge, shock and enthrall me. My course has been everything I had hoped for when I decided to apply to university in the UK and pursue my dreams. I have had the pleasure of being taught by incredibly talented and passionate tutors, and meet the loveliest of people. During my second year at uni, I have been thrilled by the gothic, dazzled by the modernists and contemplated a lot of my life through postmodernism. I feel so incredibly grateful to have had the pleasure of experiencing this. To still be here.  

But I want to make it through until the end. We are already two thirds of the way. There is only a little bit left to go. Nerdily enough, I want to write my dissertation on Sylvia Plath and the end of girlhood. I want to spend my final year of university next to friends that have now become my family. And in the future, to be able to pursue a career in publishing. To work as editor the way I’ve dreamed of since I was twelve years old sitting in my English classroom back in school in [redacted - city in Peru]. I am so close to getting this degree I’ve been working so hard on. Please help me stay and achieve this.'

Thank you

I have no idea if we can raise anything close to the sum needed this year - I know there's so much need at the moment, and people are stretched really tight. I'm setting up this fundraiser in part because so many of you have asked after A, and asked me to let you know if you can follow up last year's fundraiser with further help.

We have no expectations. Anything at all you can give is astounding. We are so grateful.

Rewards

This project offers rewards in return for your donation. Please select a reward below.

£10 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Book voucher for Gloucester Road Books in Bristol

This one's an absolute bargain - £10 gets you a £10 voucher posted to a UK address to spend at the glorious Gloucester Road Books in Bristol. What a steal!!

£12 or more

0 of 20 claimed

Bundle of 12 PDF sewing patterns

A bundle of 12 PDF sewing patterns/tutorials for making brooches, ornaments and more from felt! Generously donated by Laura Lupin!

£25 or more

4 of 6 claimed

Signed copy: A FLAT PLACE by Noreen Masud

Noreen will draw a little curled-up Morvern in a UK paperback of A FLAT PLACE, and dedicate it to you or your chosen recipient, and send it to a UK address

£25 or more

0 of 3 claimed

Hand-selected paperback from Gloucester Road Books

The wonderful Tom, Joe and Leah at Gloucester Road Books have each selected, and generously donated, a brand new paperback book! Posted to any UK address with a note about the selection.

£25 or more

0 of 2 claimed

Signed copy: DEAD DRUNK by Pam Lock

A signed copy of Pam Lock's collection of Victorian tales of drunkenness, 'Dead Drunk' from the British Library's TALES OF THE WEIRD collection. Pam has agreed to include the dedication of your choice, for you or a loved one who enjoys a drink. Posted to UK addresses.

£25 or more

0 of 6 claimed

An Audible credit

An Audible credit, good for any book on the Audible site, kindly donated by David R.!

£25 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed copy: SENSE AND SENSIBILITY by Jo Nadin

'A fresh, funny and accessible retelling of Jane Austen's classic story, with witty black and white illustrations throughout.' Retold, signed and donated by wonderful Jo Nadin! Posted to UK addresses.

£25 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed copy: THE WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD

'Deliciously silly, with hilarious catchphrases… a great cheer-up book' The Guardian A laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin, perfect for fans of Horrid Henry. Copy of THE WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD TOTAL MAYHEM! Signed by the author and posted to UK addresses.

£25 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed copy: THE DOUBLE LIFE OF DAISY HEMMINGS

'Unflinching, unforgettable . . . a step up for fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid' - The Bookseller 'Totally absorbing and evocative' - Kate Riordan, bestselling author of Summer Fever What happens when truth and lies collide? The Double Life of Daisy Hemmings is an intoxicating mystery across past and present from Joanna Nadin. Signed by the author and posted to UK addresses!

£25 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed copy: THE FUTURE OF THE SELF by Jo Nadin

Exploring the changing nature of 'self' through the lens of popular culture and how changes in science, philosophy, technology, and society might impact our sense of self in the future. Signed by the author and posted to UK addresses!

£25 or more

1 of 3 claimed

Signed copy: CORNISH HORRORS by Joan Passey

A signed copy of Joan Passey's collection of lost or forgotten strange and Gothic tales set in Cornwall, CORNISH HORRORS, from the British Library's TALES OF THE WEIRD collection. Joan is happy to sign/dedicate to recipients. Combine with her fanfiction award above, and she'll write smut on the title page for you.

£25 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed copy: PEREGRINE QUINN AND THE COSMIC REALM

The epic middle-grade adventure by the stunning Ash Bond! Signed and dedicated to the recipient of your choosing; posted to a UK address.

£30 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed 1st edition of Colin Barrett's YOUNG SKINS

Only 50 of these were published so this is very special! Donated by superstar Joe at Gloucester Road Books. Posted to UK addresses.

£50 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Signed copy: THE ROADS TO ROME

A signed copy of Catherine Fletcher's new book! 'Erudite, entertaining and infinitely readable,' says Helena Attlee. Posted to UK addresses.

£125 or more

0 of 1 claimed

One-on-one on a writing sample with So Mayer

The amazing So Mayer - author, editor, teacher and so much more - will offer a one on one on a writing sample (creative nonfiction, speculative fiction, poetry) up to 5000 words + 1 hour zoom chat

£1,000 or more

0 of 1 claimed

A case of good wine

The very generous David R. will send a case of good wine - worth about £500 - to a UK postal address. He will pay the taxes and delivery fees, and is happy to talk over email beforehand about the wine and practicalities!

£15 or more

3 of 3 claimed

A 500 word fanfiction by Joan Passey

AHRC/BBC New Generation Thinker and erudite lecturer and author Dr Joan Passey will write you a 500 word fanfiction of your choosing, 'as graphic as you like'.

£40 or more

1 of 1 claimed

Brand new copy of Anni Albers exhibition catalogue

A brand new copy of the catalogue for the Anni Albers exhibition at Tate Modern: out of print hardback edition with exposed spine binding. Donated by the phenomenal Marta Zboralska. Posted to UK addresses.

£75 or more

1 of 1 claimed

A signed book bundle from Carrie Etter

One copy of each of the amazing Carrie's five collections, all signed, plus surprise extras! Posted to UK addresses.

Show your support

Payment and personal details are protected