SOS Ecuador

Ecuador's students in the UK launch official fundraiser for Ecuador earthquake

We did it!

On 17th May 2016 we successfully
raised £52,718 of £8,000 target
with 896 supporters in 28 days

New stretch target

Dear all,

Although the SOSEcuador campaign to raise funds for Ecuador through crowd funding has ended, Ecuador still needs your help! If you want to make further donations for the reconstruction of our country, you can make a deposit to the account created by the Embassy of Ecuador in the UK for the emergency. 

Account number: 01079078
Sort code: 23-47-36
Name of the account: Embajada del Ecuador (Embassy of Ecuador)

SOSEcuador will post updates with relevant information about the progress of the campaign and its tangible results on the affected area.

Warm Regards, 

The SOSEcuadorUK Team

 

ECUADORIAN STUDENTS IN THE UK TOGETHER WITH #SOSEcuador

On Saturday April 16th a powerful earthquake of magnitude 7.8 on the Richter scale shook Ecuador’s northwestern coast, with up to 535 aftershocks to date. For the country, this is the worst catastrophe it endures in the last four decades.

More than 655 people have been killed, over 5,000 have been injured and about 29,000 people made homeless. About 1500 buildings, including homes, hospitals and schools have either been destroyed or severely damaged. These figures are expected increase considerably as rescue teams make their way through the collapsed structures, with the expected death toll already in the thousands.

The images and testimonies of people affected by this disaster are heart wrenching as families have lost their homes and many loved ones.

Hundreds of Ecuadorian students in the United Kingdom, with the support of the Ecuadorian Embassy, have come together to raise funds for their country as it faces this arduous humanitarian challenge. We are asking you to join in and help contribute with our cause #SOSEcuador.

All donations will be directed to increase the capacity of emergency teams deployed in affected areas. These funds will assist to provide vital aid to people in need, and hopefully, return some peace into their lives. These people need your help, and they need it promptly. Please help us relief their tragedy. Every single contribution counts and will make a difference in the lives of the affected families.

Help us stand up for our country. Be part of #SOSEcuador. This is an official initiative run by students in different universities in the UK with the support of the Ecuadorian Embassy. #SOS Ecuador does not have any political affiliation. For more information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Crowdfunding Coordination:

Inty Gronneberg Imperial College of London i.groenneberg15@imperial.ac.uk 
Mario Hidalgo  University College London mario.hidalgo.14@ucl.ac.uk 

 

Edition of Contents:

Enrique Crespo  London School of Economics  w.crespo-penaherrera@lse.ac.uk
Byron Llerena University College London  byron.llerena.z@gmail.com

 

Audio-visual resources:

Diana Hidalgo Universitat de Girona dianahidalgoj@gmail.com

 

Script:

David Ponce  Imperial College of London f.ponce-costales15@imperial.ac.uk

 

Facebook Contents:

Francisco Abad London School of Economics  f.abad-guerra@lse.ac.uk

 

Twitter Contents:

Esteban Guzman King's College London juan.guzman_benitez@kcl.ac.uk  

 

Campaign Designs:

Nicolas Aguirre Westminster University nico3244@hotmail.com  

 

University Coordinators:

Daniel Cuty University of Manchester daniel.cuty@student.manchester.ac.uk 
Boris Ochoa Imperial College of London boris.ochoa13@imperial.ac.uk
Alvaro Guzman University of Leeds ts09ang@leeds.ac.uk 
Helena de la Torre University of Glasgow h.de-la-torre-olvera.1@research.gla.ac.uk 
Denys Flores University of Warwick d.flores-armas@warwick.ac.uk 
Michael Taco University of the Arts London taco.michael@gmail.com 
Pablo Astudillo University of Oxford pablo.astudillo@ouce.ox.ac.uk  
Sebastian Guerrero University of Notthingham itxmsg@nottingham.ac.uk 
Micaela Jimenez University of Strathclyde micaela.jimenez@strath.ac.uk 
Maria Vallejo University of Edinburgh s1566952@sms.ed.ac.uk 
Sussy Mendoza University of Southampton mam1n14@soton.ac.uk    
María Alexandra Sandoval University of Leicester masr2@le.ac.uk  
Javier Maza Montenegro Brunel University 1441019@my.brunel.ac.uk 
Iván Torres Newcastle University  i.torres@newcastle.ac.uk
Felipe Angulo University of Greenwich af346@greenwich.ac.uk

 

The SOS Ecuador initiative was extended to Spain by the Ecuadorian students in this country. More information at https://www.gofundme.com/qnzs9ye8 


Got an idea like this?

Start your Crowdfunder