Your Chance to Secure New Welsh Review’s Future

by New Welsh Review in Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom

We did it
On 2nd April 2020 we successfully raised £15,422 with 221 supporters in 35 days

Calling readers and book lovers to secure our future in the face of cuts and to cherish the ecosystem of writing and publishing in Wales

by New Welsh Review in Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom

Rewards

This project offers rewards in return for your donation.

£50 or more

22 of 50 claimed

Platinum Supporter of New Welsh Review

A one-year subscription for New Welsh Review for you or a book loving friend, starting with our Summer 2020 issue, sent with a mystery copy of a recently published title from a publisher in Wales (Firefly, Honno, Parthian, Seren or University of Wales Press). We'll also add you as a platinum supporter to our new website until April 2022. Only 50 of these Rewards are available!

£5 or more

Benign Benefactor of New Welsh Review

Pledge £5 or more to be a Benign Benefactor of New Welsh Review and receive our deep gratitude in return.

£10 or more

Beloved Benefactor of New Welsh Review

A copy of the Summer 2020 edition of the New Welsh Reader for you or a book-loving friend accompanied by a personalised note from the editor, Gwen Davies.

£15 or more

Bronze Supporter of New Welsh Review

Receive a copy of the Summer 2020 edition of the New Welsh Reader for you or a book-loving friend accompanied by a personlised note from the editor, Gwen Davies. We'll also add you as a bronze supporter to our new website until April 2022.

£20 or more

Silver Supporter of New Welsh Review

A copy of the Summer 2020 edition of the New Welsh Reader for you or a book loving friend accompanied by a personlised note from the editor, Gwen Davies. We'll also add you as a silver supporter to our new website until April 2022.

£30 or more

Gold Supporter of New Welsh Review

A one-year subscription for you or a book loving friend to New Welsh Review, starting with our Summer 2020 issue, along with a personalised note from the editor, Gwen Davies. We'll also add you as a gold supporter to our new website until April 2022.

£45 or more

4 of 100 claimed

Diamond Supporter of New Welsh Review

A one-year subscription for you or a bookloving friend of New Welsh Review, starting with our Summer 2020 issue, along with a personalised note from the editor. We will print your name in the supporter page in all editions of our magazines and books published between September 2020 and April 2022, as well as on our website until April 2022.

£55 or more

0 of 4 claimed

CANCELLED Create Your Own Poetry Comic

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Join Nicky Arscott on 13 November 2020 for a relaxed poetry comics workshop in Machynlleth where you will explore the relationship between words and images and create your own poetry comics using a variety of materials including monoprint, collage and ink. Nicky Arscott is an artist and poet living in mid Wales whose poetry comics have been published in Poetry Wales, New Welsh Review and elsewhere.

£60 or more

0 of 8 claimed

CANCELLED Wales in 100 Objects Talk in Swansea

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Intimate one-hour talk (in English and Welsh) on the afternoon of Saturday 26 September in Swansea with Andrew Green, author of Wales in 100 Objects. Includes a free hardback copy of either the Welsh or English edition of Wales in 100 Objects (worth £25) plus complimentary tea and cake.

£60 or more

0 of 7 claimed

CANCELLED Poetry Workshop on flight

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Two-hour workshop on Saturday 10 October in the afternoon with Matthew Francis, author of Wing (Faber, 2020) on the poetry of flight in Aberystywth, with a free hardback copy (worth £14.99) of Wing included.

£60 or more

0 of 12 claimed

CANCELLED Pitching Workshop in Aberystwyth

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Two-hour group workshop on afternoon of Friday 5 July covering pitching work to magazines with New Welsh Review's Gwen Davies in Aberystwyth with a free copy of the latest edition of the New Welsh Reader (worth £6.99) included

£60 or more

0 of 10 claimed

CANCELLED Pitching to Agents Workshop

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Two-hour group workshop covering best practice when submitting your work to literary agents with NWR's Julia Forster in Machynlleth on Monday 6 July 7-9pm with a free copy of the latest edition of the New Welsh Reader (worth £6.99) included. Julia has worked in publishing for over 20 years, including at a Soho-based literary agency and she now works as a freelance reader and mentor for The Literary Consultancy.

£80 or more

0 of 7 claimed

CANCELLED Be a Bookseller for a Day!

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Between May and November, Griffin Books will host one bookseller a month. Join the team at Penarth’s busy independent bookshop and experience life as a bookseller! You’ll serve customers, recommend books, open deliveries, restock shelves, help organise events and everything in between. You will also have the chance to take over our social media accounts for the day. If you love books, you’ll love being a bookseller!

£90 or more

0 of 6 claimed

CANCELLED Translators' Workshop Welsh-English

Cancelled due to Coronavirus Two-hour small group workshop from 2pm on Saturday 14 November 2020 with editor and literary translator Gwen Davies covering the fundamental tasks of literary translation. Gwen has translated three novels by authors Robin Llywelyn and Caryl Lewis.

£150 or more

1 of 3 claimed

Manuscript Assessment by Damian Gorman

Written assessments of 12 - 15 Poems or 5,000 words of prose by Damian Gorman by email. Damian is one of Northern Ireland's most versatile and successful contemporary writers. Best known as a poet, he has also written for stage, radio and television. His work has garnered awards as diverse as a Better Ireland Award and a MBE for services to the Arts. He is currently International Resident Artist at the Theatre Peacebuilding Academy.

£300 or more

0 of 3 claimed

Poetry Pamphlet Surgery with Amy McCauley

Amy McCauley will read up to 20 pages of poetry and provide a constructive line-by-line commentary, as well as a 500 word report on the poems as a collection. As part of this package Amy is also offering an hour-long follow-up Skype tutorial with poets on developing their work. Amy's poetic drama Oedipa was published by Guillemot Press in 2018 and her full-length poetry collection Two Duets will be published by Henningham Family Press in 2021.

£350 or more

0 of 3 claimed

Translation Manuscript Assessment Welsh-English

Translation Manuscript Assessment of first 7,500 words of your literary prose work-in-progress & synopsis by Gwen Davies (Welsh to English). Gwen will provide you with in-line comments and a two-page report plus a critique of your synopsis. Gwen is an editor, author mentor and translator with over 30 years' experience in the trade. You will need to provide both the original and the translated text.

£700 or more

1 of 2 claimed

Exclusive Two-to-One Writer Feedback

Two-to-one writer feedback of the first 15,000 words of your work in progress and synopsis by both Gwen Davies and Julia Forster. A 90-minute feedback session via Skype on your prose work-in-progress. Between them, Gwen and Julia have over 50 years' experience in the publishing industry. Plus: a two-year subscription to NWR and a copy of all our Rarebyte titles in print. Includes written commentary on your work-in-progress by both Julia and Gwen

£750 or more

0 of 1 claimed

Unique Reward: Bibliophile of Wales

Own the complete set of more than 50 copies of the Library of Wales (worth £400+) plus a two-year subscription to New Welsh Review. The Library of Wales series is a project encompassing the re-publication of classic Welsh literature in English, edited and selected by Dai Smith. Published titles include Border Country by Raymond Williams, Autobiography of a Super-tramp by William H. Davies and In and Out of the Goldfish Bowl by Rachel Trezise.

£1,000 or more

0 of 4 claimed

Patron of New Welsh Review

Be our Patron! We will add your name, along with Professor Owen Sheers and Belinda Humfrey, as a Patron of New Welsh Review in our printed magazine editions in perpetuity and on our website.

£75 or more

4 of 4 claimed

The Tradition: A New History of Welsh Art

Hardback edition of The Tradition by Peter Lord published by Parthian Books (worth £40). Written for everyone with an interest in the art and history of Wales, the volume illustrates some 400 landscapes and portrait paintings, prints and sculptures. Plus: a copy of the Summer issue of the New Welsh Reader (worth £6.99).

£80 or more

5 of 5 claimed

Manuscript Assessment by Cynan Jones - 3,000 Words

Only 5 spots available! Award-winning author Cynan Jones will read and assess 3,000 words of your fiction or non-fiction prose work-in-progress and provide you with in-line comments and feedback by end September. Cynan is published in 20+ countries and in many anthologies and magazines including Granta and The New Yorker. He works as a tutor with the Arvon Foundation and Literature Wales and designed CBC's acclaimed Writing Short Stories course.

£200 or more

1 of 1 claimed

Poetry Pamphlet Assessment by Deryn Rees-Jones

Exclusive! Only one reward available. Poet Deryn Rees-Jones will read and assess (by email or post) fourteen of your poems-in-progress and provide you with in-line comments and feedback by June 30th. Deryn is poetry editor at Pavilion Poetry (Liverpool University Press).

£300 or more

3 of 3 claimed

Manuscript Assessment by Gwen Davies

Only three spots available! Gwen Davies will read and assess the first 15,000 words of your fiction or non-fiction prose work-in-progress and synopsis and provide you with in-line comments and a two-page report plus a critique of your synopsis. Gwen is an editor, author mentor and translator with over 30 years' experience in the trade who has nurtured talent including Cynan Jones, Hannah Engelkamp and Tristan Hughes.

£300 or more

2 of 2 claimed

Manuscript Assessment by Julia Forster

Only two spots available! Julia Forster will read and assess the first 15,000 words of your fiction or non-fiction prose work-in-progress and synopsis and provide you with in-line comments and a two-page report plus a critique of your synopsis. Julia is an award-winning author of two books, and a reader/mentor for The Literary Consultancy, London. She served on the Literature Wales bursaries panel for six years.

Got an idea like this?

Over £200 million has been raised from our crowd to support the projects they love! Plus tens of millions more unlocked by our partners.