WALKING IN AID OF NHS ARTHROPLASTY WAITING TIME

by MAUREEN JUNE WESTRAY in Dover, England, United Kingdom

WALKING IN AID OF NHS ARTHROPLASTY WAITING TIME
We did it
On 21st October 2020 we successfully raised £5 with 1 supporters in 28 days

Please join me and make a difference? Every donation will help. Thank you in advance for your contribution to this cause that means so much

by MAUREEN JUNE WESTRAY in Dover, England, United Kingdom

Hello all, I am Moreen Westray 89 years old from Dover Kent. I am raising awareness for myself and all other patients on the NHS ARTHROPLASTY waiting list. My goal is to raise enough funds to buy more necessary /urgently needed types of equipment and medications. This will reduce the waiting time for our patients.

 

Back in the winter of 1969, I was driving home across the country when I hit black ice. I shot to my left and confronted 6 people in a bus shelter. I swung to the right and hit a row of beach trees. My head hit the windscreen damaging my face collar bone, my whole spine, both hips, and my left knee. After 18 months, I was able to walk again long distances, ballroom dances, tap dance, mow the lawn and dig the garden.

I had to go to NHS hospital a few times but at 89, I am not able to walk without pain. So, I have a buggy to ride visiting old people who are in the hospital and make them laugh.

 

From 1969, I had to pop in and out of all five kent hospitals. Only a few times for my own benefit. Sudden headaches, knee replacements, carpal tunnel treatments, breast cancer, and womb black spot. Any other visits were me taking other people to see doctors, specialist, nurses, x-rays, etc. everyone at each NHS hospital has been efficient and know just what to do. Even when my husband was taken into a ward with cancer. I think NHS workers are fantastic.

 

What I am doing at the moment, I am writing to all old friends all over the world. So many have died. I will phone others next week. I get up at 7 am, take my shower and fully dressed for the day. Then I will have my breakfast before I start making birthday cards, cuddly bears, and painting.

 

For the last 6 years, I had a family and sadly they have left me. I have someone who helps me with house chores 3 times a week. He does my shopping, Hoover, cut lawns which is very large. He takes me out and about and all my hospital appointments.

Got an idea like this?

Over £100 million has been raised from our crowd to support the projects they love! Plus tens of millions more unlocked by our partners.