Nick needs help!

by Nick. in Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom

Nick needs help!
Not quite
Unfortunately this project was not successful.

I'm 71 yrs. old and had ms for 42 of them. I need a smaller than usual electric chair, costing £3,800 + £150 delivery to stay in my bungalow

by Nick. in Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom

I contracted ms when I was 29, fortunately a mild form of it and was very grateful  for the medical and nursing care I received during its onset. When I went into my first remission after a little more than a year I decided to nurse other people who needed help through no fault if their own, and was finally accepted to work as a Nursing  auxiliary. I chose that to find out whether I was strong enough to nurse and see whether I liked it - it is far more than a job - and I found I was strong enough and that I loved it!

After a year or so I wanted to do more but at first was refused because of my having ms and so I continued as a Nursing Auxilliary, but I still wanted to train, and eventually I won that fight, trained to be an SRN and nursed in total for 18 years but eventually had to retire as my condition worsened.

I have been in the secondary progressive stage of ms for some years and now I have hardly any use of my hands or arms, and almost no use in my legs.

I have tried for nine years to get my bungalow made large enough for a wheelchair when this day arrived but with no success, and now the only way is to use a smaller wheelchair than usual because there is not enough room here for a normal one.

I found one which swivels on its own axel and can turn  90° and 360°, meaning no turning circle as wheelchairs need, so I could go down my narrow corridor and turn at right-angles into my bathroom, bedroom and kitchen, which isn't possible with the electric wheelchairs available; unfortunately it costs £3,800 plus £150 delivery charge.

I really genuinely have no money, struggle financially to live, and so would be so grateful if people could help me raise this money - please, and  ASAP! The alternative would be to move which would be expensive and a nightmare, after over thirty years of living here, or to go into a home which would be the start of a slow and very unhappy death for me! A home is not for me.

I hate asking but I now have no alternative, so please help if you can.

Thank you.

Nick.