Daniel Brown's JV2 Funding campaign

by daniel.brown.1 in Barnsley

We did it
On 20th July 2015 we successfully raised £120 with 4 supporters in 56 days

To raise money to help pay towards the tuition and deposit fee's for a years dance training at JV2.

by daniel.brown.1 in Barnsley

Project aim

To raise money to help pay towards the tuition and deposit fee's for a years dance training at JV2.

About the project

Hello and thankyou for checking out my fund raising page. Let me first tell you a little bit about myself and why I have created this page. 

My name is Daniel Brown and I am 22 years of age. I graduated from Edge Hill University in 2014 with a BA Honours degree in Dance, Drama & Aerial Performance. Although my "dance training" only started in my second year of F.E. college where I undertook an extra AS Level in Dance along side my BTEC studies, I had taught myself basic street dance from watching YouTube in my bedroom for a few years before hand and discovered that movement was very much a natural passion. 

Throughout my studies at university had the pleasure to be part of the all male dance company "Edge FWD". They further inspired and fed my hunger for dance to grow in a professional and innovative way. It was my first real experience as part of a dance company which allowed me and my fellow dancers to take part in a work enviroment that would prepare us for the world of performing arts. This provided a mutitude of opportunities for me as a student. To mention but a few, as part of the Edge Fwd I had the chance to work with amazing choreographers such as Gary Clarke, Joss Arnott and Lea Anderson. With the company we also got to perform at multiple venues and events, for example: Liverpool music festival; Sound City, Warrington; Pyramid Theatre, Manchester; Lowry, Salford, etc. 

After my university studies I had the good fortune to land my first professional performance job, within a month of graduating, with my role in "Urban Conceptz Theatre's" production of "Freedom of Freewill". It has been a significant learning experience for me in my ongoing formation as a dancer/performer. I remain eager to improve as a performer and artiste and see this new challenge with JV2 as a key part in my learning. The trailer for this piece can be viewed above.  

Regarding the JV2 course - it is an eight month course for graduate performers who want to take the step up from student to professional artiste. "The Jasmin Vardimon Company Professional Development Certificate provides participants with a unique opportunity to train as versatile and multi-disciplinary performers, touring nationally alongside Jasmin Vardimon Company." The course will not only provide training in dance but also various perfomance disciplines that include voice, drama, music and visual arts to help to shape a fully versatile and well rounded individual - essential in today's modern performer. The training is a full time course, working 5 days a week, 8 hours each day and is run between October 2015 and May 2016, including touring dates. 

Whilst still studying in 2014 at university I did make it through the auditions and was offered a place in the JV2 programme but my financial status meant that it was impossible to accept it at that time. Since having to decline the offer over a year ago I was determined to re-apply the next year. I was delighted when I was contacted by a member of the JV2 team and informed that Jasmin herself had offered me a place in the final audition for this year which meant I could skip the preliminary rounds. As you could probably guess by this page I have once again been fortunate enough to be offered a place in JV2 and this year I WILL make it happen. 

Now for the financial break down:

The course itself costs £5000 which will be paid in three installements over the course. 

There is an £825 deposit that must be paid to secure the place by mid June. 

JV2 is based in Ashford, Kent and with myself living in South Yorkshire it will involve moving closer to the Jasmin Vardimon Production Space in Ashford. I have estimated a living cost of around £350-£400 a month (rent, bills, food, etc.), so for the 8 month period living would overall equal between £2800-£3200 , lets say £3000 as an average. 

Whilst studying I am confident that I will be able to secure a weekend job which will pay towards bills and food, etc. 

I am looking into other means of loans, grants, bursaries and financial aid to help me towards as it is not possible to get the same student loans I had whilst at University. 

I believe the target of raising £5,000 is a realistic challenge for this venture.

If you could help me out in anyway whether it is £1 or £10 or more everything is whole-heartedly appreciated. Thankyou for taking the time out of your day to check out my page. :) 

If you have any questions at all please do not hesitate to contact me via my email daniel.brown.92@hotmail.com.


This project offers rewards in return for your donation.

£10 or more

£10 Reward

A thank you for believing in my project!

£20 or more

£20 Reward

A thank you for believing in my project!

£50 or more

£50 Reward

A thank you for believing in my project!

Got an idea like this?

Over £100 million has been raised from our crowd to support the projects they love! Plus tens of millions more unlocked by our partners.